Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Hops Direct announced this years crop  (Read 8391 times)

Offline thomasbarnes

• Brewer
Re: Hops Direct announced this years crop
« Reply #15 on: June 24, 2011, 12:02:45 am »
I hadn't thought about being paid to do the research, more that I would get a modest advance on a book. I'm a university professor in Russian History, so actually research these sorts of things for a living.

You might also investigate some of the more obscure traditional Eastern European beers, especially if you have access to foreign language sources or regularly travel to Russia and surrounding countries. There might be some interest in the variations on Kvass. I'm also intrigued by an obscure Ukrainian beer (or beer brand) called "Bile" - which, despite the horrible name, is a tasty light-bodied slightly sour wheat beer which splits the difference between an American wheat and a Berlinerweisse..

AFAIK, nobody's written anything in English on the history of brewing of brewing in the X-USSR/CIS or the former Warsaw Pact nations. Even after the Berlin Wall fell, Michael Jackson didn't venture that far into Eastern Europe. Currently, the only book in English I know of on brewing or the beer scene in Eastern Europe is the CAMRA Good Beer Guide to Prague, which obviously doesn't cover the entire country.

So, the story of Communist era brewing has probably yet to be told. A potential place to start is Ron Pattinson's "European Beer Guide" (http://www.europeanbeerguide.net/). He's an amateur historian, but he's done a lot of work into primary sources, especially historical foreign language sources.

Offline tschmidlin

• I must live here
  • Redmond, WA
« Reply #16 on: June 24, 2011, 02:01:48 am »
Where is the announcement for this year's crop?  I can't find it anywhere.
Tom Schmidlin

Offline tygo

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Sterling, VA
« Reply #17 on: June 24, 2011, 04:42:20 am »