Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: can I use a 6.5 gallon plastic bucket as a secondary fermenter?  (Read 25373 times)

Offline chadgordon

• 1st Kit
Ok, obviously I’m new at this & I have what I'm afraid might be a dumb question.
I'm brewing an IPA & it's been fermenting for 9 days in a plastic bucket.  I racked it to another 6.5 gallon plastic bucket as a secondary fermenter but then I found out that a glass carboy is best because it has less headspace & less oxygen in contact with the beer, but I only have 2 plastic buckets. 
Unfortunately, my wife might throw me out if I spend any more money on beer equipment this month so I have to make due with what I have.
So that leads me to my question: 
If I place a large sanitized stainless steel mixing bowl inside the plastic bucket, sitting on top of the beer, and weight it down so that the surface of the beer is touching the bowl all over, will that reduce oxidation?  The bowl is the perfect size & actually fits snugly inside the bucket.  I’ve also got the bucket sitting in a tub of water to help control the temp & possibly help oxygen from seeping through the plastic but from what I’ve read I’m not sure that it actually helps.  I’ve read through other questions in the forum & haven’t come across anything like this.
Any help is greatly appreciated!

Chad

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: can I use a 6.5 gallon plastic bucket as a secondary fermenter?
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2011, 10:33:09 am »
If I were you, I'd just leave it alone at this point.  The less you mess with it, the better off you'll be.  In the future, you should just skip secondary.  It's almost never necessary and most homebrew "experts" recommend you not even bother with it.  Just leave the beer in the primary for 3-4 weeks and you should be fine.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com