Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Wood Pellet Grills  (Read 3544 times)

Offline Joe Sr.

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Chicago - NORTH SIDE
Wood Pellet Grills
« on: July 14, 2011, 10:42:35 am »
Anyone have experience with a wood pellet grill?

My old Weber is about to collapse and it's time for a new grill.  I'm intrigued by the Traeger wood pellet grills, but don't know anyone who's used them.

Are they that much better than buying something like a Char Griller or Master Force with a side fire box?

Also, if you've got a Char Griller or something similar (they sell them at Lowes, but again I have no experience with them) I'd love to hear it.  The price difference, plus the fact that I'm not restricted to using wood pellets, makes them attractive.

I've always used a Weber kettle grill.  I ain't interested in moving to gas so don't recommend it.

Thanks.
It's all in the reflexes. - Jack Burton

Offline SpanishCastleAle

• Brewer
Re: Wood Pellet Grills
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2011, 10:51:58 am »
I have the Char Griller with side firebox and they need some mods to be just decent smokers (it grills just fine).  With no mods it will be too hot on the firebox side and not hot enough on the stack side.  The heat just exits the firebox and rises to the top and out the stack.  The firebox fills up with too much ash on long smokes, partly because it requires quite a bit of fuel.  A little difficult to maintain a consistent, even, and high-enough temp.  Too many 'leaks' that let smoke out.

Google, or better yet, smokingmeatforums.com has all the necessary mods spelled out for you.

Offline Joe Sr.

• Chicago - NORTH SIDE
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2011, 11:25:06 am »
Wow.  I'd not actually thought about modding a grill/smoker...

For the money, it seems like it's the better deal than the Traeger.

I've never really smoked before, but I like having the option.