Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: A really stupid question...  (Read 2090 times)

Offline lunar

• 1st Kit
A really stupid question...
« on: July 17, 2011, 02:45:12 pm »
Hi I'm an absolute beginner but me and my friends are all getting some money together to start brewing.  The problem is we live in an apartment, our landlord has given as the okay to do it in the block basement, for a few bottles of course.  The thing i want to know is, how dangerous is it?  Can anything explode?  I'm really picturing the Simpsons episode where Homer becomes the Beer Baron  ;D

Offline tubercle

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Sweet Caroline
Re: A really stupid question...
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2011, 03:16:16 pm »
Number one concern in a basement would be the heat source. If using electric you're OK. Propane or natural gas might be a real concern from a ventalation stand point.

Nothing to explode from the beer or ingreidents but propane or natural gas leaks can make for a spectualcular news story.

Not to mention carbon monoxide poisoning :(
Sweet Caroline where the Sun rises over the deep blue sea and sets somewhere beyond Tennessee

Offline gmac

• Brewmaster General
  • London, Ontario
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2011, 03:38:57 pm »
Are you going to boil in the basement or ferment?  I boil outside and then move the beer to the basement to ferment but in the winter I've been guilty of boiling in the basement.  Make sure that you have lots of ventilation and don't store the propane tanks in the basement.  Best bet is outside. 
Beyond that, if you over carbonate, bottles can blow but that can easily be avoided by asking for advice on here and doing a bit of reading. 
Soon, you'll be the local beer baron. 

Offline rightasrain

• Cellarman
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2011, 05:15:43 pm »