Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Concern about lagering.  (Read 3861 times)

Offline benjammin

• Cellarman
  • Stafford, NY
Concern about lagering.
« on: December 22, 2009, 05:55:23 pm »
This is my first time brewing a lager. I originally was going to just lager it during my secondary fermentation but after I pitched the yeast at 67 degrees I decided that I would lager it at 42-44 degrees for both the first and secondary. I pitched the yeast Saturday night and I've been checking up on it for the past few days and I've noticed that there is only a thin layer of kraeusen. I'm worried that I pitched my yeast at the wrong temperature. Should I add another packet of lager yeast now that its at the correct temperature or just give the present yeast time to work?

Offline blatz

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Paul Blatz - Jupiter, FL
Re: Concern about lagering.
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2009, 07:15:58 pm »
wait, you're PRIMARYing at 42-44df?  that's too cold if so, man.
The happiest people don’t necessarily have the best of everything; they just make the best of everything they have.

BJCP National: F0281

Offline bluesman

• I must live here
  • Delaware
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2009, 07:23:12 pm »
+1

What is the beer your making. Your typical lager will be pitched and fermented around 50F.
Ron Price

Online denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2009, 09:27:56 am »
And not only are you fermenting too cold, you pitched the yeast too warm, IMO.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell