Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Working on finances  (Read 5934 times)

Offline bluefoxicy

• Brewer
Working on finances
« on: August 01, 2011, 10:31:38 am »
I found this on my way to work

And later picked up some pizza stuff and a loaf of bread

.... and after all that, I started playing with finances.

I've gone through the rent-versus-own argument (spoiler:  owning a house is a horribly expensive luxury, not an investment), but I'm primarily focused on transportation.  Transportation is an easy way to save money, although bigger gains are made by renting rather than owning when you have no specific reason to own a house.  Learning to invest on a basic level (that is:  keep an emergency fund, but put the remainder of your savings into stable bonds or ETFs or whatnot) gets a steady 7% per year gain in the long term and is another important financial skill; advanced investing starts to become a weekend, part time, and then full time job, and is discouraged as a major focus unless it's really your thing.

That's a lot of stuff in one little paragraph.  The only part I'm inclined to expand on outside an essay is transportation.

As far as that goes, I've determined the following:

• Gas is cheap.  Buying a Volkswagon TDi or a Prius won't save you money
  • Maintenance is cheap.  Maintaining your car costs around $1000/year as a dedicated driver, half as much as gas eh?
  • Cars are expensive.  Imagine a $20,000 car you drive 20k miles/year, in five years it's over 100k and most people sell it for $3000-$5000.  Maintenance at this point is more expensive just to keep the damn thing running, but it's doable and not much more.
  • Insurance, finance charge, etc..  The nickles and half-dollars.  With full coverage insurance is expensive, liability only it's not.
Let's put this all together, huh?