Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: How much yeast can you crop from the top?  (Read 2330 times)

Offline skyler

• Brewmaster
  • Hmm. Human music. I like it.
How much yeast can you crop from the top?
« on: August 27, 2011, 11:23:48 am »
I will be brewing 5 gal of bitter pretty soon with a pitch of 1318 - said to be a "true top cropping strain." Since I have never top cropped, I am wondering what to expect. Should I crop off everything on top, or just a third of it, or what? Also, will I be harvesting enough for a full 5 gal batch? A full 10 gal batch? Or just enough to build a starter with?

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
Re: How much yeast can you crop from the top?
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2011, 04:53:41 pm »
I've never used that strain before but if it is a true top cropper you can pull a lot of yeast off the top. I have pulled nearly all the krausen off some belgian strains before and still got around 90% aa. Most of the yeast is still in the beer, so pulling 2/3rds should be fine. That said, it's gonna depend on the yeast how much you will actually be able to pull. Using the French Saison strain from WY regularly and I have a hard time top or bottom cropping that strain. But WLP500 tops and bottom crops nicely.

Offline euge

• I must live here
  • Ego ceruisam ad bibere cervisiam
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2011, 06:30:16 pm »
You can make a starter but you can crop enough at the right time and you'll see signs of fermentation rapidly. You have to do it right at the height of krausen IIRC. I scooped out a couple cups of the krausen and it took off immediately in the fresh wort. Subsequent attempts revealed that cropping past the top results in a lag which increases the further you are from the peak of fermentation.

Makes great beer. If I brewed constantly this is the method I'd use.