Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Help me with a Chocolate Raspberry Stout recipe?  (Read 5204 times)

Offline vahomebrew81

• 1st Kit
Help me with a Chocolate Raspberry Stout recipe?
« on: July 31, 2011, 09:10:50 am »
'lo all.
In short, my brother is proposing to his girlfriend in a week, we all know she'll say yes, and I know I want to brew some beer for their wedding.  The plan is to have 3 beers for the wedding: one each that the Bride and Groom choose, and one that I make for the both of them.  I have never used chocolate or fruit in a beer before and am curious if I have the right quantity and technique for adding them?  I am looking for a balance between chocolate and raspberry flavor.  I chose Summit hops cause I thought the tangerine-like flavor might work well with the raspberries and chocolate.  I'll take any comments/suggestions.

Chocolate Raspberry Stout (UNNAMED)

Selected Style and BJCP Guidelines
13E-Stout-American Stout

Recipe Overview
Batch size: 2.5 gallons
OG: 1.054
FG: 1.016
ABV: 5.2%
IBU: 57.6
Color: 31.2 SRM   
Mash Efficiency: 75.0 %      
Boil Duration: 60.0 mins      
Fermentation Temperature:    68 degF      

Fermentables
Maris Otter Malt    7lb 0oz    87.5 %    5.5    In Mash/Steeped
US Roasted Barley    1lb 0oz    12.5 %    78.7    In Mash/Steeped

Hops
US Summit    18.0 %    0.50 oz    41.6    Bagged Pellet Hops    All Of Boil
US Summit    18.0 %    0.25 oz    16.0    Bagged Pellet Hops    30 Min From End

Other Ingredients
Whirlfloc Tablet    1.00 oz    In Boil
Yeast Nutrient    0.07 oz    In Boil
Raspberries, thawed    24.00 oz    In Fermenter
Cacao Nibs    2.00 oz    In Fermenter

Yeast
White Labs WLP005-British Ale

Mash Schedule
Mash Type:    Full Mash
Schedule Name:    Single Step Infusion (67C/152F)

Step Type   Temperature   Duration
Rest at    152 degF    60

Recipe Notes
Chocolate:
Use THCO Cacao Nibs in secondary fermenter for 4-6 weeks.

Raspberries: