Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: BJCP category  (Read 7505 times)

Offline bernman

• Cellarman
BJCP category
« on: September 09, 2011, 06:53:02 pm »
What BJCP category would I enter a Coconut Porter in?

Thanks

Bernie

Offline jeffy

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Tampa, Fl
Re: BJCP category
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2011, 07:12:21 pm »
Category 21 Spice/Herb/Vegetable Beer has descriptions of nut-based beers, so I think it would belong in that category.
Jeff Gladish, Tampa (989.3, 175.1 Apparent Rennarian)
Homebrewing since 1990
AHA member since 1991, now a lifetime member
BJCP judge since 1995

Offline bluesman

• I must live here
  • Delaware
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2011, 08:23:48 pm »
Coconut is considered to be a fruit and a seed, so it could also fall under the fruit category. This is a fruit unlike others, in that we might use the milk for fermentation purposes but I'm not an expert on coconuts. I would go with Cat 20 or 21.
Ron Price

Offline woadwarrior

• Cellarman
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2011, 06:47:26 am »
As a guess, I'd say it would depend on what part of the coconut was used.
That being said, coconut? Really? Coconut? ???

Offline bernman

• Cellarman
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2011, 07:22:02 am »
Yes, coconut. I toasted some flaked coconut until golden brown and then put it in a mesh bag and added to secondary for about a week. I am going to be sending it out on Monday for a comp and was not sure what category to enter it in.

Thanks

Offline bonjour

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Troy, MI, 37mi, 60.9deg AR
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2011, 07:52:55 am »
21A
from the comments
This category may also be used for chile pepper, coffee-, chocolate-, or nut-based beers (including combinations of these items).
Fred Bonjour
Co-Chair Mashing in Michigan 2014 AHA Conference in Grand Rapids, Michigan