Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Stalled Fermentation - Belgian Strong  (Read 8807 times)

Offline mtnandy

• Cellarman
  • Houston, TX
Stalled Fermentation - Belgian Strong
« on: October 13, 2011, 08:52:15 am »
So I have had a belgian golden strong fermenting away for about 10 days now. Krausen is completely gone and I have had three consecutive readings of 1.025. OG was 1.092. I used a 3.5 liter starter of 1388. I tasted a sample, and it was incredibly sweet, almost like the yeast didn't ferment all of the cane sugar that was added to dry the beer out. I started the fermentation at around 65F, and gradually ramped up to 78F. Any ideas on what is happening? Is it a conversion issue? I tried mashing low, around 147, but I accidentally got too low, and ended up mashing around 143 for 90 min. Would that affect conversion? If I want to dry it out more, what do you think about adding brett? I've never used it before, but I have read that it will eat anything, and I really like the  trappist ales. Any other suggestions?

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: Stalled Fermentation - Belgian Strong
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2011, 08:55:34 am »
can you give us more recipe details? 143 is low but I don't think it is too low to cause incomplete conversion, besides you say it tastes sweet so that implies conversion happened just fine.
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time"
-A Einstein

"errors are [...] the portals of discovery"
- J Joyce

Offline davidgzach

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2011, 09:11:44 am »
Ya.  If anything, sounds like your conversion was just fine and the yeasties should have plenty fermentable sugars to keep eating if you were in the mid-140's.  Do you use any software to check your conversion %?

Only other thought would be to pitch a couple more packs of 1388.
Dave Zach

Offline rstansbu

• 1st Kit