Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Traveling Ecuador  (Read 2507 times)

Offline rmassimiano

• 1st Kit
Traveling Ecuador
« on: November 02, 2011, 02:45:42 pm »
Hey travelers,
I am a veterinary student going to Ecuador to do some volunteer work looking for some good fermented beverages while I am there. Does anyone have any recommendations for beer to try or bars to go to? What else do they drink (chicha?...)?

I will be in Ibarra, Otavalo, and Quito all next week.

Thanks a lot,
Ross

Offline oscarvan

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Traveling Ecuador
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2011, 04:01:29 pm »
Love Quito....not exactly a beer city, haven't been there in 10+ years.

Bar La Reina Victoria is owned by a Brit (forgot his name) and Dorothy (from Chicago). Darts, Guinness in a can, about the best you can do. Used to be in a dart league there with the DEA boys. If Andy the Pratt and Whitney repp is still there tell him Oscar says hi ... (the Continental pilot)....if he remembers me...he may not remember yesterday the way he was going....do NOT get in a car with him, unless you don't scare easily. "Adam's Rib" is a crazy American who cooks the best ribs South of Miami......(if he's still alive) Careful if he's been drinking (anytime after 11am) he's packing.......

The Magic Bean is a youth hostel with a nice restaurant......catty corner is a bicycle rental... there's a Dutch chick there that's cool....forget her name. They take you up the mountain in a van, you just gravity zoom down.....it's a hoot.

Another Dutch friend, lost his info too, took me to the opening of the first brew pub....the closest thing to formaldehyde I ever drank. I'm sure they've come a long way. If they survived I'm sure they're in the book.