Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Water amendment  (Read 1902 times)

Offline cash

• 1st Kit
Water amendment
« on: November 14, 2011, 02:52:46 pm »
My water analysis is as follows: Ca 6, Mg 2, Na 18, SO4 18, Cl11, HCO3 35, T. Hardness 23 , Alkalinity 29 ,RA 23 SO4/Cl Ratio 1.6
  I am going to brew(all grain) an Imp. IPA using 16.5 lbs maris otter and 1lb crystal10(SRM~9.4)In using Bru'n Water I tried to match the Pale Ale profile as closely as possible.I am very new to water amendments so I would really appreciate any input/suggestions about the following water amendment proposal.
Gypsum 1.25( gm/gal)
Epsom .50
CaCl     .25
Chalk    .50
Phosphoric acid .5ml/gal

Offline thcipriani

• Assistant Brewer
Re: Water amendment
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2011, 10:17:08 pm »
I know that you're trying to match the "Mosher's Ideal Pale Ale" profile - and if that's the goal, your additions are probably fine; however, I am uncomfortable putting that much chalk into a pale beer like the one you're brewing. In my experience Crisp MO has given me some fairly high pH readings - even with the amount of acid you're adding I feel like you're running the risk of shooting a little North of the recommended pH range.

If I were doing this beer, I'd probably drop the Epsom, Chalk and Phosphoric and just try it with a small amount of CaSO4 & CaCl2 (enough to get to >50ppm, allowing for some margin of error). I brewed a beer last weekend that used 1lb of Simpson Dark Crystal (75L) and 1/2lb of Special B (120+L) using Rahr 2-row base (typically fairly low dough-in pH) and I still had to add acid malt to get into the right pH range. My point is that I'm more often at a higher pH than I'd like to be and adding chalk before I dough in, to me, seems like playing with fire.

I am likely in the minority on this, FWIW.
Tyler Cipriani
Longmont, CO
http://gangsta.party/

Offline hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI