Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Why hide behind a Alias?  (Read 19531 times)

Offline ryang

• Brewer
  • Indian Hills CO
Re: Why hide behind a Alias?
« Reply #90 on: November 04, 2011, 09:58:02 am »
There's a lady in my company whose legitimate name is Kitten... I think she should go by an alias.  It's really hard to take her seriously, when all I can hear while she's talking is purring and meowing.

Offline dmtaylor

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living
« Reply #91 on: November 04, 2011, 10:02:00 am »
I'm all for identifying one's self on web forums.  I typically call myself Dave because that's what I like to be called, but anyone who cares enough to look into things will quickly figure out that dmtaylor means David M. Taylor from Two Rivers, WI and that I have been posting about homebrewing in various forums for over 10 years.  I see zero reason to hide these facts, and I actually feel more pride than shame or anything.
Dave

The world will become a much more pleasant place to live when each and every one of us realizes that we are all idiots.

Offline skyler

• Brewmaster
  • Hmm. Human music. I like it.
« Reply #92 on: November 04, 2011, 01:18:28 pm »
I don't go by aliases much on the internet, but support peoples' freedom to do so. For example, if someone on this forum were from Iran or Saudi Arabia, they could face persecution for producing their own beer... hell, if someone just came from a Mormon family or something, they may not want the whole world to know that they like making beer, and who am I to judge them if they choose to keep something private that I personally choose to publicize?