Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Wyeast 1968 or safale s-04?  (Read 16406 times)

Offline juddz

• 1st Kit
Wyeast 1968 or safale s-04?
« on: January 17, 2010, 07:51:31 am »
Hello, fellow beer fanatics! I'm relatively new to homebrewing, with five batches now under my belt. (Thanks to near-OCD cleaning, sanitation, and paying close attention to time and temperature, those were five good batches!) Anyhow, I am now putting the ingredients together for a black honey ale; I am using a recipe from "Clone Brews" (Page  99, Devil Mountain Brewing Co Black Honey Ale). Anyhow, the recipe calls for Wyeast 1968; the local homebrew shop did not carry Wyeast products, so I guessed that Safale S-04 would be somewhat close (as it is a UK-style ale yeast that I've used with good results on a red ale and a pale ale). The black ale recipe has six pounds of sugar in it (5 pounds of amber extract, one pound of honey), plus 16 ounces of crushed grain. That's a lot of stuff going into the wort, and my question is whether or not the Safale will attenuate as well as the Wyeast 1968. I don't plan to brew again until next weekend (when my primary fermenter will be empty again :), so there is plenty of time to drive an hour away to another brew shop, or order online. On the other hand, I could just brew, pitch what I have, and see what happens. What do you guys think?

Offline blatz

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Paul Blatz - Jupiter, FL
Re: Wyeast 1968 or safale s-04?
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2010, 08:43:37 am »
juddz - do they carry white labs?  WL002 is the same as WY1968.

I personally don't like S-04, but many folks do - I'm sure your beer will be just fine.  As for attenuation, 1968 isn't exactly a high attenuator, so i would think you'd get at least the same level from S-04.

Good luck!
The happiest people don’t necessarily have the best of everything; they just make the best of everything they have.