Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Pitching rate for a California Common  (Read 5655 times)

Offline jivetyrant

• Assistant Brewer
Pitching rate for a California Common
« on: October 26, 2011, 07:32:23 am »
The subject says it all.  Should I pitch at ale or lager rates?  I'm using Wyeast California Lager, OG is 1.049.  The beersmith pitching rate calculator is calling for 380 billion cells, recommending a 4L starter with 2 slap packs of yeast at 82% viability.  MrMalty is estimating a lower viability of 76%, calling for a 4.7L starter.  That seems like overkill to me, but I've never tried this style before.  When using MrMalty, should I be using the ale, lager or hybrid fermentation type?  I know that you need much higher pitching rates for lagers, but does this count as one since it'll be fermented ~60F?

Offline davidgzach

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Pitching rate for a California Common
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2011, 07:36:29 am »
I would go with the hybrid.  You will not hurt anything at the lager count, but I would not use the ale count.
Dave Zach

Offline bo

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2011, 08:00:54 am »
That avatar is very disturbing.

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2011, 08:09:35 am »
I would go with the hybrid.  You will not hurt anything at the lager count, but I would not use the ale count.

+1 - go hybrid or lager.

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2011, 08:49:12 am »
Yeah, if you have time and equipment i would go big. My last batch of cali common was pitched on the yeast cake from a prior batch and it was good. got a nice cleam malty profile and it finished quickly.
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time"
-A Einstein

"errors are [...] the portals of discovery"
- J Joyce