American Homebrewers Association Awards

The American Homebrewers Association (AHA) issues the world’s top awards to recognize individuals who inspire, defend and innovate within the homebrewing industry.

For National Homebrew Competition (NHC) awards, visit the NHC Winners page.

AHA Committee Recognition Award

2023 AHA Committee Recognition Award recipient Drew Beechum (center) with former AHA Committee member Annie Johnson (left) and AHA Exec. Director Julia Herz (right).

Each year, your AHA Committee selects a recipient for the annual AHA Committee Recognition Award. The award honors outstanding service to the homebrewer community.


  • 2023 – Drew Beechum (Pasadena, CA)
  • 2022 – Denny Conn (Noti, OR)
  • 2021 – Gary Glass (Longmont, CO)
  • 2020 – Jamil Zainasheff (Fairfield, CO)
  • 2019 – Chris P. Frey (Hendersonville, NC)
  • 2018 – Charlie Papazian (Boulder, CO)
  • 2017 – Justin Crossley (Concord, CA)
  • 2016 – Janis Gross (Tucson, AZ)
  • 2015 – Stan Hieronymus (Saint Louis, MO)
  • 2014 – Ken Schramm (Troy, MI)
  • 2013 – Chris White (San Diego, CA)
  • 2012 – Gordon Strong (Beavercreek, OH)
  • 2011 – John Maier (Newport, OR)
  • 2010 – Randy Mosher (Chicago, IL)
  • 2009 – Ray Daniels (Chicago, IL)
  • 2008 – Jim Kock (Boston, MA)
  • 2007 – John Palmer (La Crescenta, CA)
  • 2006 – Ralph Olson (Yakima, WA)
  • 2005 – Joan & Ed Basham (Fort Worth, TX)
  • 2004 – Dan Listermann (Cincinnati, OH)
  • 2003 – Russ Wigglesworth (Petaluma, CA)
  • 2002 – Mary Anne Gruber (Chilton, WI)
  • 2001 – Scott Birdwell (Houston, TX)
  • 2000 – Pat Babcock & Karl Lutzen (Canton Township, MA & Rolla, MO)
  • 1999 – Alberta Rager (Shawnee, KS)
  • 1998 – Charlie Olchowski (Greenfield, MA)
  • 1997 – Greg Noonan (Burlington, VT)
  • 1996 – Dave Miller (Nashville, TN)
  • 1995 – Dave Line (England)
  • 1994 – Jim Homer (Boulder, CO)
  • 1993 – Dave Logsdon (Mount Hood, OR)
  • 1992 – Ed Busch (Somerville, NJ)
  • 1991 – George Fix (Arlington, TX)
  • 1990 – Byron Burch (Santa Rosa, CA)
  • 1989 – Pat Baker (Keene, NH)
  • 1988 – Fred Eckhardt (Portland, OR)

Homebrew Shop of the Year Award

2023 AHA Homebrew Shop of the Year Award winners, Patriot Homebrewy Supply
2023 Homebrew Shop of the Year Award winners Patriot Homebrew Supply (middle) with AHA Exec. Director Julia Herz (right) and BSG HandCraft Sponsor Matt Bolling (left)

The local homebrew shop plays an important role in our community, and not just as a supplier of ingredients and equipment. These small businesses serve as advocates for homebrewing and contributors to their local communities. Of the countless craft beer success stories today, how many of them started off as aspiring homebrewers with a visit to their local shop?

The Homebrew Shop of the Year Award recognizes the integral role that homebrew shops play in the homebrewing community. Entrants are nominated by AHA members, and the winner is chosen by the AHA Committee.


  • 2023 – Patriot Brewery and Homebrew Supply (Elkhorn, NE)
  • 2022 – Gnome Brew (Chicago, IL)
  • 2021 – Micro Homebrew (Kenmore, WA)
  • 2020 – The Brew Hut (Aurora, CO)
  • 2019 – Bitter & Esters (Brooklyn, NY)
  • 2018 – The Homebrewer (San Diego, CA)


Nominations for the 2024 Homebrew Shop of the Year Award are now open.

Follow the prompts in the form to submit a complete proposal for your local shop. Entries will be reviewed, and scores will be condensed by the AHA. The AHA Committee will then review scores and comments then vote for the Shop of the Year.

Member Deal of the Year Award

The American Homebrewers Association’s (AHA) Member Deal program offers AHA members discounts at more than 1,700 locations nationwide. Beyond savings on beer, food, homebrewing equipment, and ingredients, Member Deals allow homebrewers to connect with and support brewpubs, taprooms, supply shops, beer educators, and other retailers in their community. 

The Member Deal of the Year award recognizes the most popular deal among AHA members. Explore the interactive map of Member Deals

Time to VOTE 

Voting is open for the inaugural AHA Member Deal of the Year award. Vote for your favorite Member Deal in the form below by Aug. 23 at 11:59pm MT. The AHA will compile all votes to determine the winner.  

The 2024 Member Deal of the Year will be announced on Oct. 10 at the National Homebrew Competition awards ceremony at the Great American Beer Festival® in Denver, Colo.  

Radegast Club of the Year Award

2023 Radegats Club of the Year Award winners, the Horsemen of the Hopocalypse
2023 Radegast Club of the Year Award winners, The Horsemen of the Hopocalypse, with AHA Exec. Director Julia Herz (right).

A great homebrew club does many things in addition to brewing. These clubs also focus on experimenting, learning, education and volunteer work. Exceptional clubs work hard to make an impact on their community.

The Radegast Club of the Year Award, named for the Slavic god of hospitality and the creator of beer, is an achievement not obtained through competition, but an award won for doing great things. 


Was this article helpful?