Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Bottling bucket spigot contamination!  (Read 11037 times)

Offline tubercle

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Sweet Caroline
Re: Bottling bucket spigot contamination!
« Reply #15 on: April 10, 2012, 08:33:02 pm »
I use mine^^^ till they wear out. The OP's traditional bottling spigot is prone to fail catastrophically and has some nooks and crannies that are difficult to clean. Don't ferment with them.
I hate to differ with you but I've used those spigots on my fermenting buckets since I started brewing 20 years ago.  I've cleaned them well and only replaced them maybe 6 or 8 times over the years, and I've never had a single infection from my buckets(I have 4 that i use regularly).

Same here. I have used them for years before replacing. Clean them while they are still wet by rinsing with how water very well and using a q-tip if necessary to wipe away any residue on the inside. Dunk in star san and throw them in the box with all the other parts and stuff. Never had an infection.
Sweet Caroline where the Sun rises over the deep blue sea and sets somewhere beyond Tennessee

Offline euge

• I must live here
  • Ego ceruisam ad bibere cervisiam
« Reply #16 on: April 10, 2012, 08:56:56 pm »
I use mine^^^ till they wear out. The OP's traditional bottling spigot is prone to fail catastrophically and has some nooks and crannies that are difficult to clean. Don't ferment with them.
I hate to differ with you but I've used those spigots on my fermenting buckets since I started brewing 20 years ago.  I've cleaned them well and only replaced them maybe 6 or 8 times over the years, and I've never had a single infection from my buckets(I have 4 that i use regularly).