Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: First Time Pitching on Yeast Cake  (Read 11508 times)

Offline davidgzach

• Senior Brewmaster
First Time Pitching on Yeast Cake
« on: May 07, 2012, 06:55:56 am »
I've never done this before so I thought I would give it a shot.  I kegged my BoPils as the next one was mashing.  Racked most all of the beer off the yeast and put it back in my chest freezer at 50F.  Cooled the new wort down to 50F and racked it on top.  Man, I had activity in about an hour and the Krausen this morning is unlike anything I've seen before, even with a 1G starter.  Very cool and thought I would share. 

I know with ales you want to pitch a higher gravity beer on top to make sure the yeasties are not lazy.  Does the same go for lagers?  They don't seem lazy to me but just wondering. 

Dave
Dave Zach

Offline Hokerer

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Manassas, VA
Re: First Time Pitching on Yeast Cake
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2012, 07:34:38 am »
I know with ales you want to pitch a higher gravity beer on top to make sure the yeasties are not lazy.  Does the same go for lagers?  They don't seem lazy to me but just wondering. 

Pitching a higher gravity on top doesn't really have anything to do with laziness.  It's more about the fact that you don't want pitch onto overly stressed yeast.  Pitching a higher gravity onto a lower gravity yeast cake avoids that.  Doing the higher gravity first and then pitching a lower gravity onto the cake would be using overstressed yeast.

That said, there's nothing wrong with pitching a second brew of similar gravity as the first onto a cake.  The only thing you might want to do is to look at some of the yeast pitching rate calculators out there and make sure you're not overpitching (although overpitching is much less of a concern that underpitching).
Joe

Offline bluesman

• I must live here
  • Delaware
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2012, 07:49:41 am »