Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Plumb wine  (Read 18684 times)

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
Plumb wine
« on: June 08, 2012, 08:02:04 am »
I have not made any homemade wine since before I started brewing. Don't really have a good wine making book yet but have decided to used this recipe. http://www.morewinemaking.com/public/pdf/PWR.pdf

Any thoughts? Tips? Better recipe? What about adding pits to the must? I know some pits hide traces of carcinogens.  All help appreciated.

Offline Joe Sr.

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Chicago - NORTH SIDE
Re: Plumb wine
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2012, 08:41:32 am »
I believe the pits contain cyanide.  In enough quantity, they would be poisonous rather than carcinogenic.

I would avoid the pits.
It's all in the reflexes. - Jack Burton

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2012, 08:47:54 am »
I don't know about plum pits but apricot pits are edible. some are better than others but if you split the pit open the kernal inside is quite delicious. I don't think you would have to worry about leaving the pits in, I suspect it would add a nice nuance to the flavour.

** EDIT cause I hit post to soon **

I would think the ideal plum wine recipe would be to take a butt load of plums, crush them and add yeast, or just let them ferment.
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time"
-A Einstein

"errors are [...] the portals of discovery"
- J Joyce

Offline Joe Sr.

• Chicago - NORTH SIDE
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2012, 09:17:43 am »
I don't know about plum pits but apricot pits are edible.

Apricot pits also contain cyanide (technically a pre-cursor that becomes cyanide when metabolized).

http://www.snopes.com/food/warnings/apples.asp