Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: fermentation issues  (Read 2618 times)

Offline boris4

• 1st Kit
fermentation issues
« on: March 07, 2013, 10:35:49 pm »
hello again everybody. i have been homebrewing for 2 years now and all of my beers i like to brew are at least 1.075 og. i have issues with getting the beer down to at least 1.020. i have purchased a aerator, use yeast nutrient from white labs and keep temps around 70 but no matter what beer style it always get stuck around 1.030. does anyone have any suggestions

Offline yso191

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Yakima, WA
Re: fermentation issues
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2013, 10:41:47 pm »
Do you do a starter for your yeast?
Steve
BJCP #D1667

“Fallacies do not cease to be fallacies because they become fashions.” ― G.K. Chesterton

Offline garc_mall

• Brewmaster
  • [1892.9, 294.9deg] AR Lynnwood, WA
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2013, 12:06:38 am »
Recipe information would be important too. Are you an Extract Brewer? Mash Temps?

Offline jimrod

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2013, 01:18:33 am »
I learned the hard way just recently.... pitch more yeast......Big beers like yours 1.075 need 2 vials of White Labs per 5.25 gal in a 1.7 quart simple starter for an Ale and 3 vials in 5 quart simple starter for Lagers..

Think about that, 8% of your ale is yeast starter and 24% of your lager is yeast starter.

I just tapped a keg this week and it was one of the best beers in a long time. When I pulled out my old notes  I realized that I brewed 10 gallons of wort and pitched 2 vials in 5 gallons and a package of Nottingham in the other. The Nottingham was only of average quality but the double pitched batch was awesome and had a lower FG........ The OG was only 1.058 but the FG 1.012 wlp004.
The liver is evil and must be punished

Offline tygo

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Sterling, VA
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2013, 05:08:13 am »