Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Yeast starter  (Read 2287 times)

Offline buddha

• 1st Kit
Yeast starter
« on: March 06, 2014, 04:15:54 am »
Ok, kind of a stupid question and I think I know the answer but.........   I am doing a 2000 ml yeast starter and I have a smack pack this time.  Should I smack the pack and dump it into my beaker or should Iet it start, then dump it into my beaker to start?  I'm guessing I just smack and dump! 

Also, when you boil your dme, do you start with 1500 ml or higher to equal 2000.  I have only done this process once so I am still learning.

Thanks for any advice.

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
Re: Yeast starter
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2014, 04:24:57 am »
Smacking: either way is fine. Proof it if you're unsure of viability, or just smack n pitch

Personally,  I make my starter wort in advance by canning it. So I always have plenty of room temp starter on hand. But as to how much volume to start with, whatever works for you is fine. Just be sure that your dilution water is sterile.

Offline reverseapachemaster

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
    • Brain Sparging on Brewing
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2014, 07:18:34 am »
I smack, wait for swell and then pitch into a starter if I need one. I brew mostly smaller batches so I don't always need a starter off a smack pack.

The smack pack won't add that much volume to your starter. Make your starter based on whatever volume your starter needs to be.
Heck yeah I blog about homebrewing: Brain Sparging on Brewing

Offline Pinski

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Portland, Oregon
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2014, 08:02:02 am »