Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Michigan Homebrewing law??  (Read 12211 times)

Offline nate_lapt

• 1st Kit
Michigan Homebrewing law??
« on: May 12, 2010, 06:45:34 pm »
ok, so the law states we can brew at home, ok fine.
What about at the clubs leased building?
Does this require a brewery permit?  or does this fall under the same law?

Offline nate_lapt

• 1st Kit
Re: Michigan Homebrewing law??
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2010, 01:19:56 am »
ok, to clarify,  A group of friends lease a building and wish to brew within it, and share our brew.
But according to the law we read we will require a brewery license to do this?  Is this true?
If so, which license would allow us to do so.
Also if everything is good to go, we may want to setup as a club.

Offline richardt

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2010, 09:48:52 am »
I am not a lawyer, and I don't know Michigan Laws; but having a bunch of homebrewers getting together to brew shouldn't be against the law, regardless of where you meet/assemble.
I don't see how that would be different from a "Teach a Friend how to Homebrew Day" or a "Group Brew" at someone's house.
Our club brews outside in the common area outside the homebrew shop.  I think it's simply because there's more room outside and the mess stays outside as well as the increased visibility to passers by.
As long as you're staying under 200 gallons per adult and not selling the beer and not distributing the beer to minors, I don't think you're doing anything to break the spirit or letter of the law.  That's just my opinion.  You may wish to seek state, local, and legal opinions before entering into a contract for the building.

Offline dean

• Brewmaster
  • Me and Hayden, my newest grandson.
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2010, 10:04:04 am »