Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Bittering Hops  (Read 1401 times)

Offline brokenmast

• 1st Kit
Bittering Hops
« on: May 14, 2015, 07:08:56 pm »
I have been brewing for a few years; my question is about bittering hops. If using a lower Alpha Acid hops (Cascade 6%AA .5oz 31% utilization = 11BU) or higher Alpha Acid (Nugget 12%AA .25oz 31% utilization = 11BU) at beginning of the boil, should give the same IBUs at the end of the boil, but will the taste be much difference, using the same grain bill (10Lbs Pale Malt). 

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
Re: Bittering Hops
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2015, 07:41:33 pm »
Yeah, bittering hops are definitely not all created equal. You can use software to hit, for example, 40 IBU with any hop, but the quality of bitterness is not the same. There are hops like Magnum or Warrior that give a clean bitterness, ones like Columbus or Chinook that give a coarse IPA bitterness, and mild hops like noble hops that can be used for bittering but also give subtle spicy/floral character . Gotta experiment.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2015, 07:43:05 pm by HoosierBrew »
Jon H.

Offline Frankenbrew

• Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2015, 07:00:41 am »
I have been brewing for a few years; my question is about bittering hops. If using a lower Alpha Acid hops (Cascade 6%AA .5oz 31% utilization = 11BU) or higher Alpha Acid (Nugget 12%AA .25oz 31% utilization = 11BU) at beginning of the boil, should give the same IBUs at the end of the boil, but will the taste be much difference, using the same grain bill (10Lbs Pale Malt).

Yes, there probably will be a difference in flavor. My homebrew club did a hop addition experiment a couple of years ago, and even the beer with only a 60 minute addition had some hop flavor. I'm pretty sure we used Cascade, or if we didn't, it was something similarly middle of the road, alphawise.
Frank C.