Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Help dialing in a Saison recipe  (Read 3061 times)

Offline ThickMug

• 1st Kit
Help dialing in a Saison recipe
« on: September 04, 2015, 02:02:07 pm »
This is my first post ever here. I'm a beginner at all-grain brewing, although I've been enjoying various styles for decades. I really enjoy Saison beers, and would like to work up a good one. If anyone cares to give me some feedback, many thanks in advance!

I have a couple of specific questions, but *please,* by all means, if you think of something I'm missing, let me know.

1. Is 3 lbs wheat too much?
2. Is 2 lbs Belgian Munich too much?
3. The brewer's friend program says my expected FG is 1.010, but I thought these Saison yeasts really dried out to the low singles? I'm using Belle Saison.

HOME BREW RECIPE:
Title: Skipjack Saison 2

Brew Method: All Grain
Style Name: Saison
Boil Time: 60 min
Batch Size: 5.5 gallons (fermentor volume)
Boil Size: 7 gallons
Boil Gravity: 1.043
Efficiency: 68% (brew house)

STATS:
Original Gravity: 1.054
Final Gravity: 1.010
ABV (standard): 5.78%
IBU (tinseth): 25.91
SRM (morey): 6.71

FERMENTABLES:
5 lb - Belgian - Pilsner (45.2%)
3 lb - American - Wheat (27.1%)
2 lb - Belgian - Munich (18.1%)
1 lb - Honey (9%)
1 oz - American - Chocolate (0.6%)

HOPS:
1 oz - US Tettnang, Type: Pellet, AA: 5, Use: Boil for 45 min, IBU: 16.95
1 oz - German Tettnang, Type: Pellet, AA: 2.6, Use: Boil for 15 min, IBU: 4.76
1 oz - East Kent Goldings, Type: Pellet, AA: 5.7, Use: Boil for 5 min, IBU: 4.2

MASH GUIDELINES:
1) Infusion, Temp: 144 F, Time: 30 min, Amount: 10 qt, Beta amylase rest
2) Infusion, Temp: 152 F, Time: 30 min, Amount: 5.3 qt, alpha Rest
3) Sparge, Temp: 170 F, Time: 15 min, Amount: 8 qt, Batch Sparge
Starting Mash Thickness: 1.25 qt/lb

YEAST:
Danstar - Belle Saison Yeast
Starter: Yes
Form: Dry
Attenuation (avg): 80%
Flocculation: Low
Optimum Temp: 63 - 75 F
Fermentation Temp: 70 F