Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: saFale us-05  (Read 3395 times)

Offline curtdogg

• Brewer
  • Learning everyday
saFale us-05
« on: January 03, 2016, 06:50:24 pm »
Not sure if I posted this in the wrong place this morning.

Good morning,
 First of all let me say I am new to brewing and this forum.  I appreciate any and all comments and constructive criticism.

I recently Brewed my first small batch beer (2.0 gal) and things are going good so far. I'm using the subject yeast saFale us-05. I followed the instructions for pitching the correct amount of yeast for this size batch.

I'm curious what could potentially happen if I were to pitch the entire packet (enough yeast for 5-7 gal) in a 2.0 gallon batch?
Could it effect the flavor (too many Esters)?
Could I have a Krausen volcano?

R,
Curtdogg
Sweet home of the Beer Lords.

Offline Pricelessbrewing

• Assistant Brewer
  • BrewersFriend
Re: saFale us-05
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2016, 06:54:41 pm »
Depends on how you're pitching, rehydrating vs not, and what the OG of the wort is.

You're probably overpitching at least a little bit, but it'll be beer regardless.

Offline mainebrewer

• Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2016, 07:14:03 pm »
Better to over pitch than under pitch.
You won't have more esters and, unless, you're fermenting with too little head space in your fermenter, you won't have a krausen volcano.
"It's not that people are ignorant, it's just that they know so much that just isn't true." Ronald Reagan

Offline curtdogg

• Brewer
  • Learning everyday
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2016, 09:20:16 pm »
Thanks for the replies.
My og was 1056, and I pitched directly into the fermenter. It took aboot 12 hours to get any action but its working well so far.
 This being my first brew I,ll be learning as I go.

Offline JT

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Bloatarian Brewing League - Cincinnati, OH
    • Bloatarian Brewing League