Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: New to Homebrewing  (Read 4413 times)

Offline madscientist

• Brewer
New to Homebrewing
« on: June 29, 2010, 09:41:08 am »
Hello,

So i'm about to begin my journey into the world of homebrewing.  I'm a research chemist, and I love beer, so what better way to combine the two things I love, science and beer.  I purchased a starter kit with an ale recipie, now I'm anxiously waiting for it to ship.

So I have a few questions:
Space for me is limited in a 1 bedroom apartment.  I have a walk in closet in my living room that I cleared out a corner for storing my fermenter.  My only concern is that during the summer months in NJ, temperatures have been in the upper high 80s to upper 90s.  My apartment is air conditioned but it's not running all the time.  With a temperature of about 80F, am I going to run into problems during fermentation? 

My second question:  How important is it to boil the amount of water it says to start?  Is it ok to boil less and add the malt to that, and then bring it to volume while cooling it down? 

Is adding ice into the fermenter a viable option for cooling down the batch before you add yeast?

I can't wait to start. 

Thanks,
Tim
Homebrewed since 2010

Offline akr71

• Brewmaster
  • Beer Ain't Drinkin' - Mojo Nixon
Re: New to Homebrewing
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2010, 10:18:55 am »
If you have enough room for your fermenter in your closet, you probably have enough room for a swamp cooler in your closet.  Basically a big tub to put the fermenter in, fill the tub with cold water to act as a heat sink.  Better yet, put some frozen water bottles in the tub too and rotate them from freezer to swamp cooler to regulate the temp.  A wet tshirt over the carboy (wicking the water up out of the swamp cooler) and a fan blowing across it will help even more.

(from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Evaporative_cooler )
Some rough examples clarify this relationship.