Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: What Do You Wish You Knew Before Starting  (Read 7315 times)

Offline Becky19631

• 1st Kit
What Do You Wish You Knew Before Starting
« on: March 23, 2018, 03:39:00 pm »
Hello everyone!

I am new to the home brewing scene, and I am interested in learning what it is you wish you have known before starting. If I can learn from your experience, perhaps I can save myself some time, money, and energy. Can you share with me some of your struggles and how you over came them? Thank you very much for your input!

Best,

Becky

Offline BUZZSAW52

• Cellarman
Re: What Do You Wish You Knew Before Starting
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2018, 03:46:19 pm »
Bigger is better. I started 3 years ago on borrowed equipment and now I am on my second kettle and second mash tun. I spent a lot of money dipping my toe in brewing. Go big or don’t go at all.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2018, 04:24:07 pm »
What I wish I knew when I got started is that there are many ways to end up with really decent beer. Id get frustrated by seemingly contradictory info. 

Equipment wise, if I lost all of my brewing equipment and had to start over, the first thing I would buy is two 14cf chest freezers, and two dual stage controllers. One for fermentation and one for kegs. Then I would gather my equipment backwards, starting with CO2 and kegs, and working backwards with the last items being a boil kettle and mash tun. That way I wouldn't be tempted to brew until I had everything I need.

Offline ethinson

• Brewmaster
  • Why is the beer always gone?
    • River Pirate Brewing Co.
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2018, 04:25:29 pm »
Bigger is better. I started 3 years ago on borrowed equipment and now I am on my second kettle and second mash tun. I spent a lot of money dipping my toe in brewing. Go big or don’t go at all.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk