Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: 24 years!  (Read 2348 times)

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
24 years!
« on: December 29, 2019, 02:03:36 am »
Holy cow. I have been brewing beer for 24 years now this week. The very first batch of beer I ever made (way back in 1996 even before I knew about the internet) came from a kit (John Bull extract kit ... I used the yeast under the lid) and I can remember how excited I was back then ...  . I was super pumped about learning how to brew. Even though that first batch really sucked and tasted like vomit (butyric acid I guess? Gross!)

At the time, i was living in a duplex out in the county -  still a fresh implant in the deep south moved in from Pennsylvania, newly married, no kids yet (but did have an awesome dog)... I had an electric stove that was part of the property I rented. I was never able to clean up that first boil over. And Charlie warned me that would happen!

The simple act of brewing beer changed my life. It made me think differently. I found new friends. It got me passionate about science in a way that was unfathomable to me before. It changed my career trajectory. Holy hell I founded a business on this passion ... it almost destroyed my marriage (the business not the brewing) and I was ultimately forced out of the business I founded due to creative differences I did not foresee coming ...

And yet I continue to brew both as a hobby and professionally. Yesterday I brewed a Kölsch and even after 24+ years of brewing essentially the same recipe I tried something new based on information I found here on this forum. And my excitement has yet to waiver. I am just as excited about this last batch as I was about the first batch I ever brewed. Holy hell I think I am even more excited. And I'm not sure how that is possible.