Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Minifridge kegerator conversion recommendations  (Read 2610 times)

Offline Kestrel Brewing

• 1st Kit
Minifridge kegerator conversion recommendations
« on: July 06, 2020, 02:52:40 pm »
Hello. After 7 years of home brewing, my wife made the mistake of complaining about the time I "waste" bottling beer so I am taking that as a command to start kegging. I have a small (20" wide) closet with an outlet in the basement which will just hold a mini fridge. My plan is to run the taps out the side of the closet as there's a counter right next to it. The fridge should be able to hold 2 corny kegs (1 saison, 1 American Pale Ale). As I have zero experience with kegs other than consuming the products that come out of them, I have questions …

1. The mini fridge: It seems there is some consensus around the viability of the Sanyo 4912. This will fit in my closet nicely. Is 2 cornies the maximum capacity or can 3 be squeezed in?
2. Does the CO2 canister need to be stored upright or can it be stored on its side?
3. I am used to bottle conditioning beer and plan to do natural carbonation in the keg. What are the potential pitfalls beyond the possibility of a bit of sediment in the first pint or so?
4. My local bar has left over corny kegs from an experiment they did with cocktails on tap and has asked me to take them. Is there any reason I should not do so?
5. What is the best method of sealing around the holes I will need to drill in the fridge?

Thanks in advance!

Offline allenhuerta

• Brewer
Re: Minifridge kegerator conversion recommendations
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2020, 02:56:29 pm »
1. The mini fridge: It seems there is some consensus around the viability of the Sanyo 4912. This will fit in my closet nicely. Is 2 cornies the maximum capacity or can 3 be squeezed in?

No clue. Try it and see what happens.

2. Does the CO2 canister need to be stored upright or can it be stored on its side?