Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: PicoBrew Zymatic  (Read 1545 times)

Offline gbuschur

• 1st Kit
PicoBrew Zymatic
« on: August 25, 2020, 07:44:18 am »
I have a friend who is forced to downsize and is looking to offload an original Zymatic (pre- Z series).  I've been brewing 10 gallon all-grain batches for over 20 years.  Lately my beer consumption has decreased but I am still very interested in experimenting with smaller batches and trying out new ingredients. 

Is the Zymatic still a relevant and viable product.  Understanding this is a departure from how most of us brew, will these things still operate into the future or will they fall victim to viability and support of the parent company?

Offline tommymorris

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: PicoBrew Zymatic
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2020, 08:29:34 am »
I have a friend who is forced to downsize and is looking to offload an original Zymatic (pre- Z series).  I've been brewing 10 gallon all-grain batches for over 20 years.  Lately my beer consumption has decreased but I am still very interested in experimenting with smaller batches and trying out new ingredients. 

Is the Zymatic still a relevant and viable product.  Understanding this is a departure from how most of us brew, will these things still operate into the future or will they fall victim to viability and support of the parent company?
These can be relevant. A few things to know:

1. PicoBrew corporate seems to be closing down. They were sold to an early investor who seems to be shutting the business down. The Picobrew website is rumored to only be available until end of this year.  No one knows for sure because there is zero communication from corporate. There is no support.