Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: A little help after doing something dumb?  (Read 790 times)

Offline crobin207

• 1st Kit
A little help after doing something dumb?
« on: July 10, 2022, 06:09:53 pm »
So I’m still relatively new to this whole brewing thing. My son and I brewed a NEIPA today. We’ve had issues them turning dark before, so our big plan was to do this one oxygen-free. We’re fermenting in a 7-gallon stainless conical. I read about a way to use food-grade kitchen magnets (one inside the hop bag tucked up under the fermenter lid, one on the outside to hold it in place), so that when it’s time to dry-hop, we would just pull off the outside magnet, causing the bag of dry hops to fall in.

Alas, after brewing and before pitching, when I was messing with the magnets, I accidentally dropped the bag containing 9 oz of hop pellets (supposed to be for dry-hopping) right into the wort! We had to decide whether to leave them in or pull them out… and decided to pull them out. For now, while the wort is beginning to ferment, the soggy hops are in a bowl covered with plastic wrap, sitting in the fridge.

The question is, can we still use those in a week or so when we’re ready to dry hop, or will they somehow go bad sitting in the fridge for the next week. Should I buy new hops?

Thanks!

Offline Megary

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: A little help after doing something dumb?
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2022, 06:41:35 pm »
I would buy new hops.

But bonus points to you for posting an issue I’ve never heard before!   :D

Good luck!

Offline crobin207

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2022, 06:58:33 pm »
Thanks! I guess there’s another question in there (which probably HAS been asked before), which is, does it really matter if the dry hopping is done oxygen-free? For next time, is there really much harm done by just quickly opening the fermenter lid for 10 seconds and dropping them in?

Offline tommymorris