Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Tilt Question  (Read 2496 times)

Fire Rooster

Tilt Question
« on: October 02, 2022, 07:25:35 am »
Tilt is displaying in large text a gravity of 1.007.
In small print above that, it displays
Gravity 0.983 (pre-calibrated).
What is this number indicating ?

Thanks
« Last Edit: October 02, 2022, 07:31:19 am by Fire Rooster »

Offline tommymorris

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Tilt Question
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2022, 09:27:49 am »
Tilt is displaying in large text a gravity of 1.007.
In small print above that, it displays
Gravity 0.983 (pre-calibrated).
What is this number indicating ?

Thanks
One is the calibrated measurement and the other is raw (uncalibrated).

Offline reverseapachemaster

• Brain Sparging on Brewing
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2022, 10:34:39 am »
I don't have a tilt so I'm no expert but I believe the uncalibrated readings allows you to compare the tilt against a hydrometer and adjust its readings for better accuracy. Probably some good youtube videos explaining how to calibrate it.

I've had somebody explain to me that this helps with trub sticking to the tilt and throwing off the readings. IMO for the cost it shouldn't be defeated by a little trub.
Heck yeah I blog about homebrewing: Brain Sparging on Brewing

Offline BrewBama

« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2022, 11:31:48 am »
I guess it is a question of how much is ‘a little trub’.

*Disclaimer*: Any comment I add is simply the way I brew beer. There are certainly other ways that can be equally effective which other brewers may contribute. This is what I’ve found that works for me using my equipment and processes so I offer this for your consideration. YMMV

Offline ynotbrusum

« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2022, 01:57:37 pm »