Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Converting an upright freezer to a fridge for corny kegs  (Read 961 times)

Offline Pspengler

• 1st Kit
Converting an upright freezer to a fridge for corny kegs
« on: April 04, 2023, 05:32:47 pm »
Okay Im new at kegging after 12 years of bottling...have two corny kegs...got one in the family fridge in the basement and its time to get it out (or get divorced, per se).  I've hunted all around for a fridge that is not too costly, box stores and social media outlets. We live in a relatively rural area so Facebook Marketplace, etc. is not too helpful. I've landed on an upright freezer that is cost efficient. Does anyone have experience/recommendations with converting an upright freezer to a fridge for our beloved kegged brewskis?  Any advice here would be so appreciated.  Thank you!

Offline HopDen

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Converting an upright freezer to a fridge for corny kegs
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2023, 05:47:28 pm »
Okay Im new at kegging after 12 years of bottling...have two corny kegs...got one in the family fridge in the basement and its time to get it out (or get divorced, per se).  I've hunted all around for a fridge that is not too costly, box stores and social media outlets. We live in a relatively rural area so Facebook Marketplace, etc. is not too helpful. I've landed on an upright freezer that is cost efficient. Does anyone have experience/recommendations with converting an upright freezer to a fridge for our beloved kegged brewskis?  Any advice here would be so appreciated.  Thank you!

https://inkbird.com/collections/temperature-controllers

Look into these controllers.I have used for years on both fermentors and my keezer. If you go this route, place the temp probe into a mason jar of water that is placed into the freezer.

Offline Kevin

• Brewmaster
  • Great beer. Less work. More fun.
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2023, 07:44:45 am »