Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Lallemand Koln yeast; 93% attenuation??  (Read 759 times)

Online ScallyWag

• Assistant Brewer
Lallemand Koln yeast; 93% attenuation??
« on: July 19, 2023, 11:21:21 am »
Saturday I brewed up a split batch of hoppy Koln Schwarzbier (using Koln) and Cascadian Dark Ale (Verdant), and was surprised to see the reportedly slow Koln take off like gangbusters and produce a huge krausen after only 14-15 hours, faster even than the usually fast Verdant.

After 3 days, the Koln's krausen was already gone, and the beer was clearing very nicely.  Hunh, I thought, this should be way slower. 

Today, less than 4 full days after pitching, it looked so clear, I thought I'd hazard an early hydrometer sample.  1.004 already, from an OG of 1.064, or 93%.  Way faster/more than I expected.  It is my first time using Lallemand Koln yeast.

(Granted, I am fermenting a bit warmer than I'd have liked, about 68F.  And, I did step-mash it for higher fermentability too.  But still!)

Afraid that it was contaminated, I drank the hydrometer sample, and it was quite good -- no contamination, no off-smells nor off-flavors.  Yes, thinner body than I had hoped for, but quite drinkable.  Might not even need to cold crash it.  Looks great already.

I don't really have any questions or concerns, but thought I'd throw this anecdotal data point out there for others to be aware of.  It's a slight tweak off a recipe I've made a couple times before, never gotten anywhere close to this attenuation (or speed) with other ale yeasts.

I'll definitely use the yeast cake/slurry for a couple more round of other brews coming up, we'll see if it does this again.  In fact, I had a barleywine recipe I was going to do next, this 2nd gen slurry might be a candidate for half of that batch, just out of curiosity.