Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: New to brewing and have some questions  (Read 4906 times)

Offline lex82

• 1st Kit
New to brewing and have some questions
« on: January 04, 2011, 09:53:36 am »
Hey Everyone,

I'm new to homebrewing and actually started my first kit on sunday (1/2/10). The kit was true brew's belgian ale and I hope it comes out great. While I was reading the instructions it says to let ferment for a week and bottle for three weeks. I read a review online of the same kit and they said they let it ferment for a week and bottled for only 10 days. Would it be ok for me to do the same thing even though the instructions say three weeks? As you can tell I have no patience at all, and would love to try it as soon as possible.

Thanks

Offline hamiltont

• Brewmaster
Re: New to brewing and have some questions
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2011, 09:59:15 am »
I would let it ferment 3 weeks & bottle condition at least 3 weeks. One week in the fermenter may not be enough time & you could end up with bottle bombs.  Do you have a hydrometer?  That will tell you when the fermentation is truly done. Cheers!!!
If Homebrew & BBQ aren't the answer, then you're askin' the wrong questions... Cheers!!!

Offline lex82

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2011, 10:03:39 am »
I would let it ferment 3 weeks & bottle condition at least 3 weeks. One week in the fermenter may not be enough time & you could end up with bottle bombs.  Do you have a hydrometer?  That will tell you when the fermentation is truly done. Cheers!!!
I do have a hydrometer, my OG was 1.052. When would I know it is truly done? The FG, if I can remember is supposed to be 1.010-1.013.  So when it's in that range it's done?

Offline stevo155

• 1st Kit
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2011, 10:07:48 am »