Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: not fermenting  (Read 2196 times)

Offline andylovesburritos

• Cellarman
not fermenting
« on: March 25, 2011, 08:37:22 am »
i bought a pale ale kit and got it all brewed and in the fermenter, pitched the yeast according to the package and waited 12 hours. No sign of life and 36 hours later still no sign of life. i am going to buy another batch of yeast, but have i waited too long or would it be okay to re-pitch? like i said there are no bubbles so i can assume there is no infection, but i'm fairly new to this.

Offline bluesman

• I must live here
  • Delaware
Re: not fermenting
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2011, 09:02:01 am »
What kind of yeast did you pitch?   What temp did you pitch?

There may be a lag and/or a leak in your fermenter. Airlock activity or lack of is only an indicator of CO2 pressure in the fermenter. The yeast may be in the lag phase or growth phase. Look inside the fermenter for any activity (krausen) like a cloudiness or foam on the top of the wort.

What was your recipe? OG?
Ron Price

Offline classic

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2011, 09:04:31 am »
What temp did you pitch the yeast at? I'm assuming it was dry yeast, did you rehydrate it?  You can repitch without ill effect if you had reasonable sanitation practices, either way it's worth a shot.  However, I wouldn't wait much longer than 48 hours.

Offline andylovesburritos

• Cellarman
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2011, 09:59:26 am »
i bought a kit from the local homebrew store and it contained everything you need to make beer, all i need was some of the tools to brew it up. it came with its own yeast packet that i saved just in case, but ironically my dog ate it. none of the ingredients were labeled so i don't know what the specific recipe is, i don't even know what kind of hops they gave me. needless to say i won't buy a pre-made kit from that store ever again.