Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: bottle conditioned ales  (Read 3360 times)

Offline sparkleberry

• Brewer
bottle conditioned ales
« on: July 09, 2011, 10:29:04 pm »
i am currently sanitizing to bottle first thing in the morning.  yes, it takes time and is a process. 

i take great pleasure in making bottle conditioned ales.  and people like drinking them.

it's just a part of the process that i enjoy.  kegging may be faster, but bottling keeps me true to the process.  also i like to experiment with priming sugars. 

i should say i have no kids and no bank note, so i have the time.  this part of the process is an amazing part of drinking my better, bottled beer.  wouldn't trade this part of the fun for a quick fix.

maybe i have to wait a few weeks, but it's totally worth the wait.

i'm a pro bottler!
cheers.

rpl
apertureales

Offline brewmonk

• Assistant Brewer
  • Norcia, Italy
    • Birra Nursia
Re: bottle conditioned ales
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2011, 11:40:58 pm »
Money and experience are the main reasons I don't keg, but
+1 to your feelings.  I do find that the labor of bottling gives me a sense of an added touch of "crafting" a beer (even though kegging has it's expertise too).  And I recently learned that that step can also make or break a beer (make sure the priming sugar is mixed into the beer well  ::) )

And there is definitely something about passing out bottles to friends and the sound and action of getting that nice "pffffft"  ;D of carbonation when you pop off the bottle cap. 8)

Cheers!
Br. Francis
Birra Nursia

Offline tygo

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Sterling, VA
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2011, 05:25:54 am »