Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Prickly Pears  (Read 4848 times)

Offline snowtiger87

• Brewer
Prickly Pears
« on: October 12, 2011, 03:27:17 am »
I have never used them in a beer before but I have an idea to make a prickly pear Saison. I think the earthy character of the fruit would go well with earthy character of Saison yeast.

My question is how many pounds of processed prickly pears (skinned and seeded) should I use for 5 gallons? I plan to put them in the secondary. I would like a strong prickly pear character in the finished beer.

Thanks for your input.
Brewing since 1989 - BJCP National Rank
Member of KROC and Foam on the Range

Fermenting: Double IPA
Conditioning: Saison du Potiron
On tap: Cider, Cream Ale, Bock, Rye Dunkel Doppelbock, Celebration Clone, Imperial Stout

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
Re: Prickly Pears
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2011, 05:33:34 am »
Sounds like a great idea! General rule of thumb is 1-2 lbs of fruit per gallon. That would be a good starting point.

Offline jiggs26.2

• Cellarman
  • Black Hills, South Dakota
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2011, 05:51:16 am »
Sounds like it will be good.  Prickly Pears grow all over here is Sicily so they are easy to come by and taste great.  You will have to let me know how it turns out.
AHA Lifetime Member

Primary:
Secondary:
Bottle/Keg: Holiday Chocolate Stout, Nelson Sauvin IPA, Brew Dog Punk IPA Clone, Apricot Pale Ale, Wizenbock

Offline eltharyon

• Cellarman
    • Barefoot Lion Brewing
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2011, 06:04:21 am »
damn thats a good idea...must not play with the beer in the fermenter...I have a wild rice sort of black saison in and been playing with ideas to tune it up as it conditions.  I've never actually had prickly pear by itself, but its been one of those things that interest me as I walk through the produce section.

Offline snowtiger87