Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Switching to Whole Hops!  (Read 10096 times)

Offline James Lorden

• Brewer
  • Forest Hill, MD
Switching to Whole Hops!
« on: October 20, 2011, 11:27:20 am »
Every year I sit down and look back at my last year in brewing and think of ways to modify my process or to try new things out.  Last year for instance was the year of the filter.  Just about every beer I made was filtered.  It was a huge pain in the but; however, I liked the results.  This year I've decided that I am going to use whole hops in every beer!  I realized the other day that I've been brewing for 10 years now but in ten years and well over 100 batches I've never used anything but pellets.  This year that changes.  I just bought a ton of whole leaf hops from Hops Direct and Fresh Hops and I can't wait to start!  One exception that I may allow is dry hopping.  I will dry hop in the 10 gallon conical with whole hops but I am thinking that when I do 5 gallon brews in a carboy that logistically I still may need to use pellets.

This should be fun - anyone selling a hopback?  Might as well go all in at this point!
James Lorden
Beer Drinker Beer Maker & Beer Judge

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
Re: Switching to Whole Hops!
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2011, 11:44:54 am »
Somethings to consider. Whole hops can cause clogging nightmare if you don't bag them. There is less organic matter in pellets due to the fact that the pellatizer removes se of the excessive vegitative matter during processing. Also pellets tend to stay fresher longer because you can purge them easier and there is less surface area to aerate the volatile oils. Also whole hops absorb a lot more wort so anticipate you efficiency to go down as far as final collection in the feenters go.