The American Homebrewers Association Announces 2022 Hill Staff Homebrew Champion  

Link to article
Homebrew on the Hill 2022
Sam Wiesneth, press assistant to Senator Steve Daines (R-MT), accepts the Best in Show award on behalf of Joshua Sizemore, also from the office of Senator Daines.

Washington, D.C. –  Brewing up bipartisan camaraderie on Capitol Hill, the American Homebrewers Association® (AHA) announced the 2022 winners of the Hill Staff Homebrew Competition.  

Returning after a two-year hiatus for its fifth iteration, individuals and teams of eligible congressional legislative staff and federal employees submitted an array of homebrewed beers for judging. Full details—including information on the competition rules, regulations, and beer style guidelines—can be found here. Entries were evaluated by a prestigious group of certified beer judges and professional brewers.  

Julia Herz, executive director of the American Homebrewers Association, announced the winners during the Brewers Association’s annual holiday reception on Capitol Hill. 

“Homebrewing is a delicious hobby that brings people together,” said Herz. “It’s exciting to see the Capitol Hill community embrace the ingredients of bipartisanship, beer, and friendly competition. Congratulations to this year’s winners and thank you to all who entered.” 

Joshua Sizemore, Office of Senator Steve Daines (R-Mont.)
Joshua Sizemore, Office of Senator Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Capitol Hill Staff Homebrew Champion, Best of Show

The 2022 Winners

  • Capitol Hill Staff Homebrew Champion, Best of Show: “Stuck In Committee,” Strong Bitter, by Joshua Sizemore, Office of Senator Steve Daines (R-MT) 
  • Second Place: “Hot Toddy Ale,” Winter Seasonal Beer, by Molly Ryan, Office of Senator Susan Collins (R-ME), with co-brewers Tim Stretton and David Ross 
  • Third Place: “Santos L. Halper,” Belgian Dark Strong Ale by Nathan James of Congressional Research Service 

This year’s participating congressional offices included the offices of Representative Earl Blumenauer (D-OR-3), Senator Susan Collins (R-ME), Senator Steve Daines (R-MT), Representative Rodney Davis (R-IL-13), Office of the Majority Leader Steny H. Hoyer (D-MD-5), Representative Mike Kelly (R-PA-16), Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), and Congressional Research Services. 

Julia Herz, executive director of the American Homebrewers Association with 3rd place winner Nathan James of Congressional Research Service

Images from the awards ceremony are available for use and download here. 

Media contact: Bailey Schneider (on behalf of the Brewers Association), Bailey.Schneider@backbone.media970-963-4873 x1245.


About the American Homebrewers Association:  

The American Homebrewers Association (AHA) has worked on behalf of the homebrewing community since 1978 and celebrates a membership of more than 37,000 homebrewers. The AHA organizes events including the Homebrew Con™, National Homebrew Competition, Big Brew for National Homebrew Day, and Learn to Homebrew Day. The AHA also publishes Zymurgy®, the longest-running magazine for homebrewers. The AHA is part of the Brewers Association®, whose Brewers Publications® division is the largest publisher of contemporary and relevant brewing literature for today’s craft brewers and homebrewers. Beer lovers, fermentation fans, and anyone interested in making their own homemade beer are invited to learn more at Follow the AHA on and Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.  

The Brewers Association is an equal opportunity employer and does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, gender, religion, age, disability, political beliefs, sexual orientation, or marital/familial status. The BA complies with provisions of Executive Order 11246 and the rules, regulations, and relevant orders of the Secretary of Labor.  


Was this article helpful?