Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Cheap Fermentation Temp Control?  (Read 12680 times)

Offline darkmorford

• Cellarman
  • Redmond, WA
Cheap Fermentation Temp Control?
« on: April 14, 2011, 06:57:19 pm »
I'm in the midst of fermenting my first-ever beer, and I've found that there isn't any place in my apartment that's cool enough to adequately ferment. The best place I've managed to find still hovers around 70F, and when you take the extra heat generated by fermentation into account, it's just barely cool enough to ferment an ale. I don't have air conditioning at my place, so in a month or two it's going to be too hot for me to realistically brew anything at all! Clearly, if I want to continue this hobby, I'm going to need some way to keep my fermenter(s) cool. The catch is that I'm on a very limited budget: ideally I want to do this for $50 or less, but I can go up to around $100 if I need to.

I've got some basic experience with most power tools, and I'd be willing to build something if it can be done better/cheaper than what I could buy. What do you guys recommend for a low-budget chiller?

Offline theDarkSide

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Derry, NH
Re: Cheap Fermentation Temp Control?
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2011, 07:06:13 pm »
A tub of water with frozen bottle of water work.  Keep some in the freezer and swap out when the ones in the tub thaw out and rotate.

Other methods include putting the fermenter in a little bit of water and covering it with a t-shirt.  You can also put a fan on it to help keep the temp low.

Also, keep an eye on Craiglist and if you have room for a small fridge, you can get one cheap and spend the money left over on a temperature controller.
Seacoast Homebrew Club - Portsmouth, NH
AHA Member
Stephen Mayo
------------------------------------------------

Offline jamminbrew

• Brewmaster
  • theAntipunk
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2011, 07:40:31 pm »