Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Help Please!!  (Read 2211 times)

Offline Wheat_Brewer

• Assistant Brewer
  • Bad Bunny Brewing
Help Please!!
« on: May 06, 2012, 01:56:33 pm »
I've had my keg setup for about a year and have moved away from it because I can't seem to find the leak anywhere! I think it may be in the regulator even though it's brand new out of the box. Last night I did a test, I hooked the regulator up to the CO2 tank, turned the valves so that the CO2 didn't escape, put in 25PSI of CO2 and turned the CO2. I checked a few hours later, the gauge still showed 25. I came back a few hours later and it then read 29PSI!! I came back this morning, 0PSI. Is my regulator bad?

Thanks for the assistance.
AHA Lifetime Member

Offline aa7yy

• Cellarman
Re: Help Please!!
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2012, 02:15:37 pm »
I am pretty new at this. Of course, it could be the regulator, but also the pressure will increase with the temperature. Did the keg warm up ? Maybe do 25 psi, disconnect the gas and check it again in exactly 24 hours at the same temp. For the leak, disconnect  the gas line. You can squirt soapy water all over and not find the leak in the poppet. Also, I am sure that you remember the lid is and egg, not an oval. Once I have got my lids to seal I have made a slash across the lid to the top so I always start off close.

Offline Mile Hi Brewing Supplies

• Retailers
  • 1st Kit
    • Mile Hi Brewing Supplies
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2012, 02:17:51 pm »