Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: bridge collapse  (Read 5120 times)

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: bridge collapse
« Reply #15 on: May 24, 2013, 09:25:32 am »
This wasn't a case of failing infrastructure - an oversized truck hit one of the supports.

http://usnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2013/05/24/18465755-like-a-hollywood-movie-driver-survives-i-5-bridge-collapse-into-wash-river?lite

I would think that if one truck hitting one support is enough to take down a bridge it's till failing infrastructure. just not spontaneous failure.

Could be crappy engineering and/or construction defects.  But failing/poorly maintained infrastructure is more likely.

agreed on both points. I am not a structural engineer (IANASE?) but I would think that basic design/construction failure would likely have showed up much earlier in the bridges life span.
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time"
-A Einstein

"errors are [...] the portals of discovery"
- J Joyce

Offline tcanova

• Assistant Brewer
  • Fayetteville Arkansas
« Reply #16 on: May 24, 2013, 09:29:33 am »
In 2002 a tow barge hit a support of a bridge over the Arkansas River killing 14.  The barge driver blacked out and to make matters worse, a guy posing as a US army captain took charge of the disaster scene for two days!
What's the worst that could happen?  Beer?

Wooo Pig Sooiee

Offline Jimmy K

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Delaware
« Reply #17 on: May 24, 2013, 09:54:22 am »
I would think that if one truck hitting one support is enough to take down a bridge it's till failing infrastructure. just not spontaneous failure.

Could be crappy engineering and/or construction defects.  But failing/poorly maintained infrastructure is more likely.