Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: How to keep the ball valve on a boiling kettle from clogging  (Read 3073 times)

Offline guido

• Brewer
Normally, I put a false bottom in my 10 gallon Polarware kettle to keep to the whole hops from clogging the ball valve when I make my APA's and IPA's.  This time, however, I need to make a bigger batch.  I have a 20 gallon Polarware kettle, but no false bottom.  I have a 45 degree copper pipe elbow (pointed downward, of course) that's threaded into the inside of the kettle.  Is there a simple, low-tech way to keep the whole hops from clogging the ball valve?  Yeah...I could bag everything, but I like the hops to be more "exposed" to the wort.
Well...I woke up this morning and I got myself a beer

-"Roadhouse Blues,"  Jim Morrison

Offline Pinski

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Portland, Oregon
Re: How to keep the ball valve on a boiling kettle from clogging
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2013, 01:41:01 pm »
I prefer free range whole hops as well yet if I were you, I'd just go with hop socks. I've used them many times with fantastic results. You could also make an el cheapo "hop spider" by putting a dowel over the boil kettle and suspending a large mesh bag from the dowel by the drawstrings, keeping the opening above the surface of the wort.  Either way, I doubt your beer will suffer. Especially if you bump the quantities just a tad.
Steve Carper
Green Dragon Brewers
Clubs: Oregon Brew Crew & Strange Brew
BJCP Certified

Offline guido

• Brewer
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2013, 01:57:12 pm »