Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Storing beer in a corny  (Read 8217 times)

Offline fmader

• Senior Brewmaster
Storing beer in a corny
« on: August 17, 2013, 08:26:57 am »
Ok, I'm very new to kegging and actually haven't used a corny yet. So I have a mine question. I don't have my keezer set up... Still lacking the perfect freezer (7.5 cubic foot are hard to find). But I plan brewing a winter warmer pretty soon, and I want to store/age it in the keg. My question is, do I want to prime it before storing, or wait until it's time to serve it?

Thanks!
Frank

Offline duboman

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Storing beer in a corny
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2013, 08:46:07 am »
I'm a total noob at this keg thing as well so take this for what it's worth and I'm sure someone else will correct me if I'm wrong.

If by prime you mean naturally carb and condition you would first purge the keg with CO2, then rack over 1/3 less the amount of priming sugar you would use for bottling. Once racked, seat the lid with about 20psi of CO2 and clamp it down.

In this state the keg can sit indefinitely. If not naturally carbing, you want the beer at serving temp, force carb it and again it can sit, I believe.
Peace....Love......Beer......

The Commune Brewing Company-Perfecting the craft of beer since 2010

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2013, 08:47:45 am »
If you naturally carb in keg then now is fine. You will need it to be cold to force carb it.

Offline fmader

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2013, 08:51:48 am »
Sorry. I will be force carbing. So I keg it now, I put it in the keezer and get it to serving temp in December, andd then carb?
Frank

Offline duboman

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2013, 09:18:33 am »