Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: First "big" beer  (Read 6141 times)

Offline twopumpsandimsorry

• Cellarman
First "big" beer
« on: November 06, 2013, 10:13:29 am »
Brewing sat with a friend and it's my first attempt at a 10% abv beer. Have about 18.5 lbs of grain. I've read a lot of different methods on how to mash and sparge a beer of this size. Looking for some pointers before sat to help hit the desired OG. Thanks
"We are here to drink beer.... and live our lives so well that Death will tremble to take us."
Charles Bukowski

Offline tschmidlin

• I must live here
  • Redmond, WA
Re: First "big" beer
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2013, 10:15:44 am »
Can you explain your equipment?  If we know what your gear is like we can give you better advice.
Tom Schmidlin

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2013, 10:19:13 am »
Plan for a lower than expected pre-boil gravity and keep some DME on hand.

• Cellarman
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2013, 10:21:09 am »
MY mash tun is a chest cooler, my buddy has a pot with a screen but he's reluctant to use it to mash in. (afarid of scorching the grains). Typically fly sparge. My efficiency with my cooler tends to be around 72-75. Have lots of big pots and burners. Not sure what set up we will use. It's his brew really I may try to talk him into mashing in his pot but unsure if he will want to.
"We are here to drink beer.... and live our lives so well that Death will tremble to take us."
Charles Bukowski

Offline Iliff Ave

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2013, 10:23:03 am »
What style of beer are you brewing? It may be helpful to mash low and add a small % of basic table sugar to ensure your FG isn't too high. Plan for 5-10% lower efficiency if not more...
On Tap/Bottled: IPL, Adjunct Vienna, Golden Stout, Honey Lager
Fermenting: IPA