Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Software  (Read 5237 times)

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Software
« on: December 17, 2013, 09:11:45 pm »
I have been using Beer Alchemy for 6 or 7 years. I am still using version 1 because I didn't like some of the changes the developer made in version 2. I have been playing with both BeerTools and BeerSmith, and don't really like either enough to make the jump.

So I am at a thee way fork and need some guidance.

Below are some of the pluses and minuses I have off the top of my head. Please respond with your own pluses and minuses and/or try to persuade me.

BeerSmith
$28 + $8 for mobile
+ Cross platform allowing for tinkering at work and home
+ Mobile App
+ Online syncing, though it seems like it isn't automatic
- Hours of work to move my recipes and batches over
- Look and feel, just looks cheap and I don't like the whole tab thing
- No support for batches

BeerTools
$35 + subscription
+ Web based mobile app (subscription required?)
+ Online syncing, still not automatic
+ Looks nice
- No support for batches
- Web based mobile app

BeerAlchemy
$20 upgrade ($30 new) + $20 Universal iOS App
+ Familiar
+ Seamless migration
+ Batches  ;D
- Syncing over WiFi but no online syncing, not even with iCloud
- Mac and iOS only, no fiddling at work
- Can no longer fiddle with the final gravity when building new recipes. Only gives three levels of fermentability. I know with a low mash and 3711 my Saison can get 92% attenuation not the 84% the software tells me.
- New interface is different from before, but not awful
- New desktop app doesn't sync with the old iOS apps forcing a double upgrade

Side question - What do these developers have against two word names?

Offline kramerog

• Brewmaster General
    • My LinkedIn page
Re: Software
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2013, 07:56:38 am »