Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: My reason for signing up here...  (Read 4358 times)

Offline MO

• 1st Kit
  • Let's go...Mountaineers!!!
My reason for signing up here...
« on: August 13, 2014, 10:03:53 am »
...is to make the best quality beer for myself that I can.  I'm a rookie and will have rookie questions.  Where should I start asking questions?  The equipment I use or the water I use?  I have a basic start up kit that I use from Brewers Best that my son bought me for Christmas.  A plastic bucket with a lid that has an o-ring, a stainless steel pot that I make my wort in and everything else that came with that kit.  I've upgraded nothing because the beer tastes fine to me.  Then again, I LOVE beer and it all tastes good to me.  That being said, there is a noticeable taste upgrade in what I've made compared to the commercially brewed beer I've always bought.  I'm a Belgian Ale and IPA guy.  I would appreciate someone jumping in here with suggestions.  I read a lot before I posted and it's pretty overwhelming.  The water I use is from Wal-Mart...it's spring water that comes in plastic jugs.  How do I tell if that's "good water"?  What equipment upgrades should I start with?  Thanks in advance.
"Trying my best to be who my dog thinks I am"

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: My reason for signing up here...
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2014, 10:25:23 am »
If you are brewing with extract your best bet on water may well be Reverse Osmosis or even distilled. The water that the maltsters used to make you extract had, in theory, a desirable and controlled mineral content and alkalinity. using distilled water means, at least, you are using the wort the maltster intended you to use.

If the styles you are most interested in are Belgians and IPAs then the big areas for improvement right now for you include: