Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: First time kegging: does volume in keg matter?  (Read 5760 times)

Offline jeeyeop

• Cellarman
First time kegging: does volume in keg matter?
« on: November 28, 2015, 01:31:34 pm »
Hey guys, I'm looking to purchase my first keg after getting too much inconsistency with carbonation using bottle conditioning.

So, I usually brew about 3-4 gallons for the primary. If I purchase a 5 gallon keg, is there anything different I need to do if I don't use a full keg before pressurizing? Like, if a video is telling me to pressurize a keg at 20psi, do I need to convert to another amount if it's a half-full keg?

I'm completely new to these kinds of equipment/measurements/etc so any help in the most basic language is greatly appreciated!

Also, any recommendations for a good keg? Preferably easy to clean/use. Thanks!

Offline duboman

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: First time kegging: does volume in keg matter?
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2015, 03:24:11 pm »
No, you ist set the regulator to your serving pressure, allow the keg to carb up, 10-14 days and serve. Keep in mind, if you try the various methods of force carbonating to shorter serving time you too can over carbonate a keg just as easily, there is still a trial and error period getting your system set up;) ie, proper serving temp, line length, pressure, etc

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920A using Tapatalk

Peace....Love......Beer......

The Commune Brewing Company-Perfecting the craft of beer since 2010

Offline jeeyeop

• Cellarman
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2015, 03:44:34 pm »
interesting. so 20 psi on 5 gallons in a 5 gallon keg will do the same amount of carbonation to 3 gallons in the same size keg?

Btw, it takes 10-14 days? I was watching a northern brewers vid where they had it pressurize over 2 days before serving. What does carbonating for longer do? Thanks for the response!

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN