Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: WL300 and HefeWeizen brew - best temp for banana/clove  (Read 15899 times)

Offline ne-brewer

• 1st Kit
  • Aurora, NE
WL300 and HefeWeizen brew - best temp for banana/clove
« on: November 13, 2009, 04:46:46 pm »
I'm a newbie who just brewed an all grain HefeWeizen with WL300 yeast. I wanted a LOT of banana and clove and was told to ferment very cool... like at 62-64*F to get the most banana and clove. I also thought I read that somewhere.

BUT, I just saw a post on another forum where someone was told NOT to ferment cool if desiring banana and clove.

I'm confused.... ??? What is the best temp to get the most banana and clove ... cool or warm??

Thanks for any help....
Roger
-------------------------------
Keg#1: Honey Blonde
Keg#2: Jamil's Mild (dark)
Keg#3: Jamil's Nut Brown
Keg#4: Hefeweizen
Keg#5: Amber-Simple-Malty
Keg#6: empty
Fermenting: Moose Drool
Next: Dunkelweizen?

Offline beerocd

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: WL300 and HefeWeizen brew - best temp for banana/clove
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2009, 06:46:05 pm »
300 will give you a lot of banana either way. Higher temps give you unwanteds in your beer too though.
Ferment at the proper temp and I think it's more important the strain of yeast you choose to get the flavors you want from the yeast. Hefe IV will give you the cloves/spiciness.

-OCD
The moral majority, is neither.

narvin

« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2009, 09:20:49 pm »
So, the best advice is to try it yourself and see what you like.

However, my advice is that as long as you pitch enough health yeast, fermenting cool produces a well balanced ester/phenol profile of banana and clove.  WLP380 at 62 degrees is my preference.  But you should definitely try and find out for yourself.

Offline ne-brewer

• 1st Kit
  • Aurora, NE
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2009, 07:04:40 am »
Thanks guys....